I’d Rather Not Be a “Skinny Bitch”


EVERY time I walk into a Borders or another book store, I see this book called “Skinny Bitch” and it always drives me CRAZY!!!! As you can see by the picture, the book cover has a woman with unnaturally large hips for a “skinny bitch” and is pencil thin. Of course the cover says “a no-nonsense, tough love guide for savvy girls who want to stop eating crap and start looking fabulous”. And of course there’s a whole collection of these books. “Skinny Bitchin”, “Skinny Bitch Bun in the Oven”, “Skinny Bitch in the Kitch” and “Skinny Bastard”. Well, I’m sorry former model and former modeling agent but I’d rather not be a skinny bitch, and if I wanted to hear about much of a fat, worthless woman I am I would take a trip back to my sophomore year of high school.

The book cover of "Skinny Bitch"

Some may call me a hypocrite because I have been trying to lose weight. (The only reason I am is because I gained 10 pounds and surpassed the weight I’m comfortable and healthy at.)  Some may say I’m jealous of skinny women, but that is not the case. I don’t have a problem with women who are naturally thin. In some ethnicities , it is normal to see that most the women are built thinner than the women of other ethnicities. However, that doesn’t make a thin woman better than a woman who isn’t. It doesn’t make it acceptable for all women to strive to be unhealthily and unrealistically thin.

At one point or another in their lives, women (myself included) want and try to become pencil thin. There are several reasons behind this. For one thing, women are always competing with each other. We are always looking at other women and comparing ourselves to them. As vain and narcissistic as it sounds we want to be THE BEST and most desirable woman in the world, and every other woman out there is competition. Secondly, we see images of thin women EVERYWHERE. Pencil thin models and celebrities grace billboards, magazines and television screens. Everyone loves these women which drives home the point that everyone (especially men) loves a thin, tall, long-legged, small waisted  women. This leads us to conclude that we need to be skinny in order to be liked and successful.

What most people don’t realize is that being pencil thin is mission impossible for most women. Everyone’s body is different. Not every woman is 5’10. Some women are just naturally curvier than others. It doesn’t mean they are fat or unhealthy. It just means they are built differently and unable to shed pounds like other women. In addition to this, some women are unable to lose a lot of weight due to genetic factors or illness. For example, recovering cancer patients are advised not to lose too much weight in case the disease comes back. Losing too much can also cause health problems. If you’re like me and have big breasts, loosing too much weight can cause serious back pain.

actress Keira Knightley

This drive to be skinny can also be taken to the extreme. Many women become obsessed with weight loss and the consequences are detrimental to their health. It is estimated that 8 million Americans suffer from eating disorders. 7 million of those Americans are women. Many of these women under eat, binge and purge, over exercise and some even refuse to eat. This can result in organ and tissue failure. In the end, if a woman doesn’t stop the results can be fatal.

So, no thanks. I’d rather not be a skinny bitch. I’d rather not deal with hearing or reading about how I need to skinny for people to like to me and to attract men. I’d rather not read a book that suggests I’m not of value because I’m not a size 0. I’d rather read or hear something that affirms that no matter how much I weigh I’m still beautiful. I’d rather read a book that affirms character over physical appearance. Maybe I should write one someday.

8 thoughts on “I’d Rather Not Be a “Skinny Bitch”

  1. You go girl!!! No one can tell you what beautiful, especially not men and the media!
    Even though I’m a …skinny bitch (not naturally though, by exercise n healthy eating :P) I hate hate HATE this skinny-ness is beautiful or the cruvy is beautiful propaganda. F THAT!!! What do you mean skinny/curvy is beautiful?? EVEYONE is beautfiul, whether bone thin, normal, muscular, curvy, short, fat…everyone! I also hate this new “a real woman is curvy” nonsense as much as the “a skinny woman is better”. NO!! Eveyone is beautiful in their own way and no one can hate on another person’s body no matter what!
    *pant pant * 😀 thats all.

  2. Yet another tragic example of “don’t judge a book by its cover”

    Did you bother to open the book or just decide to sit at your computer and have a rant because you think everyone cares about your misinformed opinion?

    Next time you decide to waist people’s time with your boring ass complaints, try getting your facts right first ey?

    The book is about how to select and eat healthy foods you knob.

    1. I believe the correct spelling is “waste” not “waist”.

      If you actually read the post, you would probably see that my “complaint” was not entirely directed at the contents of the book itself, but the way it presented itself. Unfortunately we all judge books by the cover, just as you have judged me. I stand by my post and my opinion.

      Thanks for reading and have a wonderful day!

    2. Much agreed! I have skinny bitch and skinny bitchin both sittin on my kitchen countertop. They are great books and very informative for women who care about themselves and want to be confident in who they are.

  3. I’m not sure if you’ve read these books but I think they’re great. I just had a daughter and am proud to have my hawaiian curves (and by curves I mean REAL curves, not chunk). These books are all about being confident about who you are, taking charge of what you want in life, and being Healthy…not necessarily skinny. With the way society is today, it’s a great marketing tool; the way they titled and put a “skinny bitch” on the cover gets women’s attention. But once you dig deep into the book, it’s all about eating healthy and taking care of your body. I understand where you’re comin’ from, but take advantage of what it has to offer rather than jump down it’s throat for using the marketing tools they used in order to get women’s attention.

Talk to me!

