Happy Birthday Ant!


Today may be the the first day of summer, but it also another very important day. It’s my best friend’s birthday! So in honor of his birthday, I decided to dedicate a blog post to him. I did what I do best in circumstances like these. Write a poem. Happy 20th birthday Anthony Ward!!!!!! Hope you like the poem kiddo.

A picture of the birthday boy

“Don’t walk in front of me, I may not follow. Don’t walk behind me, I may not lead. Walk beside me and be my friend.” Albert Camus.

You started as a seed.

Small, hidden underground.

So tiny, helpless.

No light to be found.

But you sprouted roots.

Climbed out from the dark.

You kept growing stronger and stronger

Until you reached your mark.

You lifted up your roots.

You weren’t fit to be a tree.

You wanted to float along the butterflies.

Sting as fiercely as the bees.

So you sprouted wings

Soared like an eagle in the sky

Then you dived down like raindrops

And morphed into twinkles in the sky’s eyes.

You kissed the moon

Sang songs with the sun

Dove deep into the ocean

But you were nowhere near done.

You morphed into a boy

Who’s growing into a man

Who does his best to be kind.

To lend a helping hand.

So I’ll never walk behind you.

And I’ll never cut in front.

I’ll always walk beside you

Because there isn’t a better friend I could want.

Happy Birthday!!!!!

Talk to me!

