Homosexuality and Sin


Adam and Eve

Happy Sunday! Hope you’re all having a great weekend. Today’s Soulful Sunday post will focus on homosexuality. As you probably know by now, New York passed its gay marriage bill and gay men and lesbians everywhere are celebrating. Because of this, I decided to do research as to why gay marriage and homosexuality is wrong in many religious circles.  Please note that these ARE NOT my views. I am simply stating what most religious circles think. At the END I will post my views, probably under a title saying WHAT I THINK. Enjoy!

Why Is Homosexuality A Sin?

When God created the world, he created it with a plan.(As a popular saying goes, God created Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve.) When you go against God’s word or design you are sinning. Sin is about more than rejecting God; it’s also rejecting who and what we are and how and why we are made. So although homosexuality may be okay with many people today, it’s still not okay with God because He doesn’t just go with the flow.

Scriptures that Support Homosexuality As a Sin

You can read all about sexual sinning in the tale of Sondom and Gommorah. There are specific verses in there that touch upon homosexual acts like Genesis 19: 4-5. However, there are scriptures that specifically talk about homosexuality. I’ll just post a few of them, but if you want to read more about it this site has a lot (http://rickbeckman.org/the-scriptures-on-homosexuality/)

You shall not lie with a man as with a woman it is an abomination Leviticus  18:22

If a man lies with a male as with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination;they shall surely be put to death; their blood is upon them Leviticus 20:13

Do you not know the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived:neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God 1 Corinthians 6:9-10

What I Think

Lions are one species that engage in homosexual behavior

The reasoning to support homosexuality as a sin is faulty in some places. For instance, there about  1500 species other than humans that engage in homosexual behavior.  Elephants, brown bears, dolphins, king penguins, lions and dragonflies are a few examples. Suppose these animals were like the rabbits in Watership Down and believed in a god, maybe even the same God people believe in. Would these animals be doomed to eternal damnation? If it isn’t natural, then why are so many species (including human) made that way?

I think people are against homosexuality because it goes against our biological imperative to keep the human species going. Men and women are supposed to be together because they naturally produce babies who in turn will produce more babies. With homosexual relationships, they cannot naturally have children. I think people are afraid that if being gay is accepted, more people will engage in homosexual behaviors and less children will be born.

It’s a rational fear, but I think that either way children will be born, regardless of their parents sexual orientation.

What Do YOU Think?

Do you think homosexuality is a sin? Do you think it’s natural? Should be accepting or condoning homosexuality? You guys know what I think. Now it’s your turn to tell me what you think.

2 thoughts on “Homosexuality and Sin

  1. Thanks for linking to my site (RickBeckman.org); I just wanted to point out that that entry was made ages ago, and that I am now supportive of homosexual lifestyle choices. I hope nobody judges me or my site based on my past views. Time has passed, and I’ve grown up.

Talk to me!

