Funerals For the Aborted


Happy Sunday guys and gals! I hope you all had a great week, an even greater weekend, and I hope you’re ready to go for the coming week! Sorry for not posting much, hopefully I will be able to do a better job into the coming week.

Anyway, today’s Soulful Sunday post is on abortion and why it’s considered wrong in the eyes of the church. I WILL NOT post an opinion in this post because it is a sensitive subject for both women AND men. Although I won’t be posting my thoughts and opinions in this post (it was REALLY hard not to), it may show up in another post and y’all are more than welcome to comment with your thoughts and opinions on this post and the other if it were to come up. Of course I’ll respond back. Enjoy folks. 

I was doing my weekly search of videos and topics to write about when I stumbled upon this one. It was originally posted on YouTube August 1st, 2011, but I found the video itself today on worldstarhiphop.com. The video is of Father Frank Pavone, National Director of Priests for Life, who discusses his experience at the funeral and wake of aborted baby Ester in Orlando, FL. Watch the video, and then we’ll go from there.

What Father Frank Pavone and his friends at Operation Save America intended to do was honor the aborted child and raise awareness about abortion.There are several reasons why those in religious circles consider abortion an abomination, a sin, and an offense against God. Here are some reasons/scriptures religious leaders and those who oppose abortion use to support their argument.

God Created Life

Genesis 1:26-28 says

 “Then God said, “Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals,and over all the creatures that move along the ground.” So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them;  male and female he created them.God blessed them and said to them, “Be fruitful and increase in number; fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky and over every living creature that moves on the ground.”

Because man is created in God’s image and the highest form of life, He considers it sacred and valuable. Life is so valuable to God that he imposes a death penalty for anyone who takes another human life. This penalty is found in Exodus 21:12 (Anyone who strikes a man and kills him shall surely be put to death) and Numbers 35:30 (If anyone kills a person, the murderer shall be put to death on the evidence of witnesses. But no person shall be put to death on the testimony of one witness).

When an abortion occurs, a devaluation of life occurs. It shows that the life of others do not matter and that man can do what he pleases with it. This is the opposite of what God wants. He wants people to know that life is precious, it should be cherished. It is a gift, and by taking a life, you are destroying His gift.

Abortion is Murder

As I alluded to in the previous section, those in religious circles and those who are pro life believe abortion is murder. The Bible does not refer to unborn children as fetuses, zygotes or cells. It refers to them as infants or babes, as to being living and feeling creatures. Here are some verses to support this notion.

“Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying: “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; before you were born I sanctified you; I ordained you a prophet to the nations.”(Jeremiah 1:4-5).

“What then shall I do when God rises up? When He punishes, how shall I answer Him? Did not He who made me in this womb make them? Did not the same One fashion us in the womb?” (Job 31:14-15)

Furthermore, God imposes a penalty on those who kill unborn children. According to Exodus 21:22-23,”If men strive, and hurt a woman with child, so that her fruit depart from her, and yet no mischief follow: he shall be surely punished, according as the woman’s husband will lay upon him; and he shall pay as the judges determine. And if any mischief follow, then thou shalt give life for life”. Of course there is also Genesis 9:5 which says murder is forbidden.

A Person’s Body is God Temple

Although God did create us to have free will, we are not free from sin. God has the ultimate say over our bodies because He is in control of us and our bodies are His temple.

Consider Corinthians 6:12-13 (You may say ‘I am allowed to do anything.’ But I reply, ‘Not everything is good for you.’ And even though ‘I am allowed to do anything,” I must not become a slave to anything…But our bodies were not made for sexual immorality. They were made for the Lord, and the Lord cares about our bodies) and Corinthians 3:16-17 (Don’t you realize that all of you together are the Temple of God and that the Spirit of God lives in You. God will bring ruin to anyone who ruins this temple. For God’s temple is holy, and you Christians are that temple).

Parting Words

For those of you who DID NOT read the disclaimer in the beginning or forgot because this post is SUPER long, the views expressed here DO NOT reflect my own. In fact, my personal views are not expressed here at all. I just wanted to inform you guys about these types of memorial services for aborted fetuses and why those who are pro-life and/or religious believe that it is a sin. With that being said, tell me your views! We can definitely talk in the comments!

In the meantime, I’ll leave you with this clip of late comedian George Carlin and his views on abortion.

Talk to me!

