The Not So Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day


Today’s personal post day! If you don’t care to read about my personal life, come back tomorrow. If ya do read on! 

Although I’m only 20, Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day, was one of my favorite books. It still is. (Grant you it was written in the 70s, but it’s a timeless classic.) What I love about the book is that EVERYONE, young and old, can relate to how Alexander is feeling. Hell, sometimes the day turns into an uphill battle the moment you open your eyes. In a nutshell, that’s how my day went. Here it goes.

One of the Best Books EVER

I didn’t get much sleep last night, and that usually puts me in a mood. I remember having two dreams. One was a nightmare and the other was outrageously inappropriate and it scared the hell outta me.  I laid in bed an extra 5 minutes after my alarm went off and dragged myself into the bathroom. I showered, finished, and saw that I didn’t shave my legs. Since I thought the look good feel good method would give me a boost, I went back to shave them. The rubber bands I put in my hair kept snapping and I thought it looked a puffy mess. I sucked it up, put my stuff in the car and headed out to start the day.

The morning wasn’t so bad, minus a fire drill and no bagels that I liked. And work wasn’t terrible. But I was in an awful mood and the only thing that could easy the pain was cheese fries from my favorite spot. And that was good too.

Then I had my second therapy session. That wasn’t so bad either. It only took 45 minutes, I’m not neurotic (although I feel it), and I got to play with sand while she asked me questions. Pretty bitchin’. I’ve only been there twice and the real work hasn’t begun yet, but I do like the Women’s Center and think this time around I’ll stick through this course of therapy.

I was feeling good about myself and pretty satisfied when I walked out. Two emails changed that real quick and I was suddenly angry, sullen, and feeling like Eeyore from Winnie the Pooh. I did play the lottery on my way home and got sunflower seeds. That counts as a plus.

I dropped my mom home and did some more work after. That worked out great and I was in a great mood after that. BUT then I came home and my balloon got busted.

N ow here I am, thinking of an awesome children’s book and bitching and moaning to mostly strangers about how my day turned out to be a not so terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. I guess what I’m driving at is this. Part of me is Alexander’s mom in the book. Even though we all have shitty days, we should look for the good inside them. Then a part of me is Alexander. Screw this, I’m moving to Australia.

Talk to me!

