Blocked


Hello readers! As I mentioned in the previous post, I’m back starting today. Thank you so much for your patience and for continuing to read my blog while I was gone. I would especially like to thank those who made comments and suggestions. They encouraged me to come back and continue to do the work I’ve been doing.

A writer's worst nightmare

Some of you may be curious as to what I’ve been doing while I was gone. (If you are continue to read. If not, it’s okay. I’ll see you Tuesday.) I’ve been working mostly. My best friend (hopefully soon to be boyfriend) came to visit me for a weekend and that was amazing. Some small drama has been going on too. Not sure what the outcome of that will be, but that will be revealed and dealt with soon enough.

I’ve also been trying to dedicate time to write and enter my work into contests. That hasn’t been going well. See readers, writer’s block played a huge roll in my hiatus. Although writing blog posts about current events and social issues is different from writing short stories or poems, they both require a strong voice and creativity. In the months that I stopped blogging I feel that I almost completely lost both. The ideas don’t come as easy. The words don’t flow. Everything sounds stupid and mundane. Everything seems cliché. It just doesn’t sound right. It just doesn’t sound like me.

Somewhere along the line, I’ve lost my voice. I could blame a lot of things like a busy work schedule, problems with relatives, my ex boyfriend. All of these would be acceptable scapegoats, but there’s really only one person to blame. Myself. I’ve let my voice be silenced and my creativity suppressed. The only remedy is to force myself to write and hope things start to click in my head again.

If you’ve ever had a case of writer’s block then you know that this is a lot easier said than done. You delete, erase and tear up everything you write because it just isn’t right. None of the old tricks are working. Music, art, people watching, prompts and free writing all result in dissatisfaction. Maybe I’m trying too hard. Maybe I’m forcing myself into this. Or maybe I just need to find new ways to be inspired. Or…maybe my stint as an amateur writer has run its course.

Enough about me though, reader. How about you? Have you ever suffered from writer’s block or have been unable to do something you love? How did you cope? What did you do to cure your writer’s block or deal with your block? Tell me about it.

4 thoughts on “Blocked

  1. Hmmm. happens. Go sit in your closet – it’s quiet (except you will hear things), dark ( except your brain will make things out of the shadows) There are textures, lumps, and smells that prod senses and memories – and confining…so you can’t wait to get out of there. Who says you can’t afford a writer’s retreat? HA HA! Don’t worry, you’ll write again. (drama is draining – as well as inspiring)

      1. Just checking in to see how it’s going. The brain loves novelty so sometimes it needs a little prod…if you are a quiet person who is still or sits at a desk, try a walk outside and looks at the small things below your feet and high above your head – if you are an active person who is always on the go, try something quiet and still like mushing with playdoe/clay or even sitting listening to water fall in a fountain or pool ( or pour it yourself – back and fourth from one glas to another – notice the sound and how light shines, refracts and the colors). Have worked with young writers – and a few old cranky one – everybody gets stuck – mostly life interrupts writing – it’s hard to find time. Don’t give up! good luck

      2. Thanks! I appreciate the check in. I ran some errands and then dedicated time to be in places I wouldn’t normally be. Went to the park and sat on the swings and the jungle gym. Tried the closet and then I sat in the bath tub in the dark. I’ve got a ton of ideas now and so far so good. Just hope I don’t read it tomorrow and get the urge to start over!

        You’re right, life really does get in the way sometimes. It’s hard to sit and write when there’s so much to do, but I’m definitely going to set aside some time to write. It’s always something I’ve loved and been good at it and I definitely don’t want it to go to waste.

        Thanks again!

Talk to me!

