I’ve Been Gone A Pregnancy


Howdy readers! This post is a personal one, but there is another one for those of you who aren’t really interested in what’s been going on with me. So if you want your regularly scheduled blog post, proceed to the next one (Breast Cancer Awareness Month). Please feel free to read this one, the next and all the other material here. Thanks! =] I now return you to your regularly scheduled post.

Hey readers. It’s been nine long months since I last posted on this blog. A lot has happened since then. Some things have changed for the better while some things have just…changed.

A few days after my last post in January, I turned 21. I didn’t get ridiculously drunk or anything like that, but I did grab a drink with a couple of my coworkers. I didn’t have any high expectations or any crazy plans for turning 21. I thought it would be just like turning 18. Legally you can just do more things and legally you can get into more trouble.  21 hasn’t been so bad though so far. There’s three months left before I’m 22 so I won’t jinx it.

My father and I officially severed ties. He did call me a few months ago and the anger that I thought has subsided welled back up. I was very short with him and didn’t return his “I love you” and “miss yous.” Hell, if he really loved me he wouldn’t treat me like a red-headed step child. If he really did miss me, he would have picked up the phone several months ago and try to patch things up. I don’t really miss him, considering he wasn’t really a father to me any way. His loss, not mine.

After a little over a year of selling life and health insurance, I decided to step out of the game. I wasn’t really the best salesman, and it just didn’t feel like the right fit for me anymore. I start my new job next week processing benefits at another company. It’s closer to home and a steady paycheck, something that I could really use now to get me back where I need to be.

The two year anniversary of what happened to me came and went. Don’t really want to talk about that, so I won’t. Let’s just say it was NOT a good day and I’m glad it won’t be back for a little over another year. Hallelujah.

Still single, but it hasn’t been for lack of trying. There were two guys I was really interested in but things just didn’t really pan out. The one potential fell through because of distance and I wasn’t exactly in a good head space. The second thing ended because…well I’m not sure 100% on that. But I know what it is to get dumped. There were a couple of random dates here and there that didn’t pan out either. Currently I have my eye on someone, but that deserves its own post in the near, yet distant future.

I got my first real check for writing something with my name on it! It was one of the best feelings I’ve ever had! Don’t get me wrong, I’ve done ghost writing in the past. Ghost writing isn’t bad and it’s decent pay, but you can’t really brag about how well you did or bask in the glory of how amazing it came out, because technically, it’s not really yours. But this time I got my own by line and it was great!

Most importantly, I decided to take the leap that everyone has been encouraging me to take since high school. I’m writing a book. It’s a little over halfway finished, and although the original premise of it has changed, I’m really happy with it so far. I’m not going to go through all the red tape and bullshit of going through a publisher. I’m just gonna self publish it and promote the hell out of it myself. Hopefully it’ll be done by the end of this year or the early beginning of next year. So prepare yourselves for some major shameless self promotion in the future.

That’s about it really guys and girls. What’s been going on with ya’ll? Anything interesting happened to you while I was gone? Leave me some comments!

Talk to me!

