NaNoWriMo Madness


Okay, so maybe I took the lazy way out by writing two personal posts this week. However, in my defense, the post on Tuesday was more of a social commentary if you think about it.

Anyway, I nerded out Saturday and rented The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. (For good measure I rented Drag Me to Hell.) I remembering seeing the preview a while back and it looked like it would be a good film. I love British movies and I absolutely love Judi Dench. There were also some other familiar faces too. Maggie Smith ( Sister Act), Bill Nighly (Shaun of the Dead and Rango) and Penelope Wilton (Shaun of the Dead) were in it too. All in all it was a great movie and I’m glad I watched it an obscene amount of times in less than 24 hours. (Okay, maybe 3 isn’t obscene, but I really liked it.)

Groovy movie

There was a saying repeated a couple of times in the movie that really grabbed me. It’s “Everything will be alright in the end. So if it’s not alright it isn’t the end.” It’s a saying that kind of makes you want to keep believing and keep going. Things go wrong. You’re whole world gets turned upside down and it feels like everything is crumbling around you. Sometimes things just aren’t alright. And if they’re not, that’s fine, because it isn’t of the road. If only I could believe in that now.

This brings me to the seemingly nonsensical title. Don’t worry folks, it isn’t gibberish.  It stands for Nation Novel Writing Month which kicks off in November. The goal is  to write a 50,000 word novel between November 1st and November 30th.

I’m considering participating this year, but I’m having some reservations about it. The idea of writing an actual novel in 30 days scares me, especially when I have no ideas and practically no creativity running through me anymore. Then there’s the time constraint of 30 days itself. What kind of quality novel is that? Not saying it can’t be done and the people who do it don’t work hard, but it just makes me a little uneasy. Then  there’s my other poor novel that I’ve been working on for quite some time sitting on the back burner. What about it? I feel like I’m neglecting a child by setting it aside for a month.

Maybe this novel will be my way of making things alright for me. If I pour myself into it and work I should be able to get over this rough patch, this deep sadness that’s eating away at me. I don’t know. I’ve got some time to decide.

What do you readers think? Should I attempt NaNoWriMo? 

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Madness

  1. Do it!! I’ve thought about it myself. I would not produce a good novel, I’m sure of it, but it would be such an accomplishment! I think you would feel great about it once you were done, no matter what the result. And you’d have something finished (which you could go back and edit and polish later) when the month was up. There’s nothing saying you can’t add to the 50,000 words later. I say do it!

      1. Yikes, I knew that one was coming once I sent the comment! I’ll definitely think about it. Good for you!! You will be proud of yourself just for doing it.

  2. I went to the website…is that a first step? I was wandering around the forums and found a thread called “NaNoWriMo” Ate My Soul”…not encouraging!!! Here’s my problem. I have a vague idea for a story. There’s two main characters and a definite setting–I can close my eyes and see it perfectly. Not quite sure what I’ll have these 2 people do for 50,000 words 🙂

    1. Yep, you sign up through the website, do a little bit of updating all your personal info and you’re all set. 🙂 I’m having the same problem! lol. I have a basic idea, the setting and a few characters, but that’s about it for now. We’ve got a couple more days though.

      1. Hmmm…maybe my characters could meet up with your characters 🙂 I’m sure something interesting might happen! OK, I’m doing it. I’ll sign up at the very least. Hubby is encouraging me. I will probably make it to 5,000 words and peter out.

Talk to me!

