Creepy Christmas Traditions: The Elf on the Shelf


This year was my first year learning about the elf on the shelf. Apparently it’s been around for years and has become a tradition in many families.

The creepiest thing I’ve ever seen

Here’s how the tradition works for those who are unfamiliar with it. Right after Thanksgiving, an elf appears and stays until Christmas Eve. This elf stays with the family and reports to Santa every night to let him know if the children were naughty or nice. He even comes with  a story book you can read to the children.

The elf on the shelf is supposed to encourage good behavior during the weeks preceding Christmas. Some find it sweet and fun. Others find it creepy. I’m one of the people who find the elf creepy.

Don’t get me wrong. I find the intentions behind the tradition commendable. It seems like a fun way to keep the magic in Christmas and enforce good behavior. However, there are some things I can’t look past.

For one thing, I HATE dolls that look like the elf on the shelf! It’s got that creepy porcelain doll meets Chucky vibe going. If a toy is scary looking to me, it’s probably going to be scary looking for my children.

In addition to its creepy face, if I were a kid I might feel strangely about a doll popping up random places every day. One day he’s on the shelf. Next day he’s hiding in the Christmas tree. The following day he’s in Barbie’s dream house. After that he made a huge mess in the kitchen when he baked cookies. Does he sleep? Does he ever stay still? What was he doing with my Barbies and can all my toys bake??? Why wasn’t I made aware of this?

Are any of you guys who have children using the elf on the shelf? Why or why not? Do you find him creepy too? Vote on the poll or sound off in a comment below!

Talk to me!

