Madness Update 1: I LOVE Editing


Happy Tuesday readers! I wasn’t exactly sure what to write about today, so I decided to start a new series of posts. As some of you may know, I’m working on self publishing my first novel. It’s called Madness. I was aiming to have it out by March, but right now it may be an April release date. Anyhow, this series of posts will let you know how it’s coming so if you’re interested in it or curious about self publishing, here’s the scoop!  

Over the last few weeks, it has become apparent that  I will do ANYTHING except edit my novel. Wanna have breakfast? Sure! Play

I ❤ Editing. Not!

games on Facebook? You bet! Catch up on American Horror Story: Asylum? OF COURSE! Do some cleaning or some freelancing? Yeah, sure. Anything to keep me from marking up my novel and ripping it apart.

There are several excuses I could make for not editing it. My beta readers aren’t close to being finished. I don’t want to move forward without someone else’s input. But there are certain things that can be fixed like sentence structure and fixing plot holes and inconsistencies.

I guess I’m also afraid of ruining it or finding out it’s no good. It’s a first draft. I know it’s not perfect, especially after reading a few pages a few months after it was written. However, it seems like a huge, daunting task now.  Going line by line. Questioning everything. Changing sentence structures. Fixing plot holes. Deleting scenes and chapters. Just thinking about it makes me sick.

Why can’t novels edit themselves?

Does anyone else hate editing?  What do you do to make the process easier and less scary.

Talk to me!

