Unplugged


Happy Thursday! Sorry I’m late. I felt like being Jenna Marbles today. (No disrespect to her. She’s usually pretty funny and dead on.)

Anyway, there are two reasons why this post is super late. The insignificant one was that I was catching up on my shows: American

No interwebs for me

Horror Story and Bad Girls Club. Both were great. And then I got the opportunity to see Silver Linings Playbook. I’ve been DYING to see it  so of course I jumped at the chance.

But the major reason I’m late is that I decided to “unplug” myself today. No Facebook. No Twitter. No texting. No internet or instant forms of communication at all. I just completely unplugged myself from the world. I must say it was a liberating experience.

My decision to unplug came to me last night. I was in a sour mood for no particular reason. I guess I just felt…alone and frustrated. I felt a little used too I guess. I’m always there for other people. I’m always trying to be a people pleaser.  There are a few exceptions but, there haven’t been too many moments lately where anyone’s tried to please me. You know, do what I want. Like what I like. Validate me as a person. Make me feel like I actually mean something. I guess when it comes down to it, I was just tired of the bullshit.

So in a fit of frustration, I turned off my phone and went to sleep. I had to turn it on in the morning in case my mom needed me, but I put the ringer on high and put somewhere where I would forget about it. And it worked perfectly! It felt nice not having to deal with anything or anyone. No whiny Facebook statuses. No bitchy tweets. No headaches. It was nice to be off the grid.

I got a lot done too! I actually edited four chapters of Madness today. It wasn’t as bad as I thought. A lot of it was really intense and gut wrenching. I was just fixing some details and smartening up some sentences.

Anyway, sorry for being so late! I really suggest you give unplugging yourself a try. Trust me, you’ll love it!

 

Talk to me!

