Madness Update 3: Worst Sex Scene Ever


I’ve finally had my first WTF moment with my Madness over the weekend. It was so bad I literally faced palmed myself and stopped reading.

Here’s what happened. As I was reading through one of the chapters, I came across one of the few sex scenes in the novel. I knew it was there. I knew it wasn’t that good when I read it the first time. But it was so bad I couldn’t even get through it! In short: WORSE SEX SCENE EVER! WTF!

So now I’m feeling a little…discouraged. That scene needs a MAJOR rewrite, but I have absolutely no idea how to fix it. Now granted, I’ve written a few sex scenes, but they were never…okay, they all suck. So I shy away from them. However, because sex is now something major for Langston I can’t just leave them out. That would be cheating her, myself, and the readers of her adjusting to sex and eventually enjoying it again.

I read somewhere that sometimes authors get a little too “invested” in their characters and that may be the case here. In some ways, Langston is a manifestation of myself. And because her first time after the rape was…a little nerve-wracking when there’s a break in the action, perhaps that’s why it read like an instruction manual.

So now I have a few choices.

  1. Gloss over the sex scene.
  2. Delete the sex scene and pretend it never existed.
  3. Rewrite the sex scene.
  4. Rewrite the whole chapter
  5. Bang my head against the wall.

HELP! What should I do? Has anyone else ever written a painfully awkward sex scene? How’d you fix it? I’m open to any and all suggestions!

One thought on “Madness Update 3: Worst Sex Scene Ever

Talk to me!

