Madness Update 5: Third Draft Complete


At long last I FINALLY completed my third draft. In all fairness, it was pretty much done.  I printed out a copy and marked it up (you could tell whenever I couldn’t find the pen I was using previously. I think I used maybe three different ones throughout the edit.) So all I had to do was open Word and make all the changes.

The next step to give myself some much needed distance from Madness is to hand off to another human being. Hopefully this will give me a week to recharge and refill my well.  After that I’m going to use this new writing software I found from another writer’s twitter account. I went to find the name of this gentleman, but it looked like the original tweet disappeared.

Anyway, the editing software is hosted at http://prowritingaid.com/.  All you have to do is copy and paste the text into it and it will analyze your work. If you don’t want to copy and paste, there’s a plug-in for Word. The best part is it’s free!

I tested it on the first chapter and I’m really impressed with it. It really allows you to see things as a hardcore, nitpicky editor would. It tells you what words are overused, sticky sentences, grammar issues, diction and pacing and even clichés. It’s pretty thorough!  Although it appears there’s a lot of work I still have to do, I’m looking forward to it.

 

2 thoughts on “Madness Update 5: Third Draft Complete

Talk to me!

