Madness Update 6: A Moment of Angst


*Sigh* Hey readers. It’s been awhile since I updated you guys on the book so I figured that you were due for a much needed status report.

I’m working on the final draft. When I started working on it I was REALLY excited and happy. With a perfected draft, I could finally start working on proper promotion and cover art. The publishing wheel would finally be rolling.

I’ve kind of been relating it to giving birth. Writing it was the birthing process. The edits have been like raising your child. Then finally, actually getting it published is like sending your kid off to college in the hopes that it will make something of itself. So I guess it would be understandable to feel a little down about getting ready to send your first born off to college. You hope it makes the cut out in the world but you never can be certain. But I don’t think that’s the source of my angst.

I think the real issue I’m having is the anticipation of promoting and marketing Madness. To help me get a better grasp on it, I purchased a book called The Essential Guide to Getting Your Book Published by Arielle Eckstut and David Henry Sterry. While it does provide a lot of good information, it feels a bit…overwhelming. Even a tad bit discouraging to think about every single detail involved in the process of traditional and self publishing services.

On top of that I’m trying to get the editing done by August. If I don’t get it done by then I know I will have wait to until September. My August funk seems to have grabbed me a month early though. At least it’s an improvement over last year. This wave of nerves and feelings I have hit me in June.

I want to bury my head in the sand, but I know it would be foolish. I came this far. Why stop?

2 thoughts on “Madness Update 6: A Moment of Angst

Talk to me!

