Madness Update 8: My First Naysayer


It’s hard to tell people you’re a writer or that you want to be a writer. In terms of a career choice, writing is a tough one. Although you put a lot of time and effort into your craft, sometimes the pay out is small. And a long time coming.

I finished my final draft of Madness early in the week. I’m sure there’s probably a few grammatical errors I missed, so I’m having someone comb it over to make sure it’s okay. As far as I’m concerned though, I can now get the publishing/copyrighting ball going. I can at least start making some decisions and doing research on marketing and the self publisher I want to use.

Even though I’m excited about what I’ve accomplished, I still feel at odds when it comes to talking about the plot. The subject matter may make some people uncomfortable. After all, rape, war and PTSD are very touchy subjects for some. I don’t think I’m doing it right.

It’s also a bit nerve wrecking because a.) I don’t think I’m doing it right and b.) people tend to stomp on your dreams. What can I say? Some people are soul crushing assholes   jerks.

With that being said, I encountered my first skeptic/naysayer yesterday. I was talking to a friend/coworker about Madness when another person asked about the plot. My heart was racing and I may have flinched a little as I waited for that thoughtful, sideways head tilt people give me when I tell them the basics. A rape victim and a Iraqi veteran help each other deal with PTSD. I got the thoughtful sideways head tilt I was expecting followed by a “Cool. But that plot is really overdone. I think that’s a movie. Does she sleep with the brother like in that Jake Gyllenhaal movie?”  That’s not exactly what he said, but that was the gist. Ouch. My ego was slightly bruised, but still in tact.

He asked if it has a happy ending. I say yes. He tells me  happy endings don’t sell well. And to think Walt Disney built an empire on them. My ego was completely deflated.

This isn’t the first time I’ve received criticism over something I wrote. It isn’t the first time I’ve heard criticism about Madness. I posted the links to the two teaser chapters on Facebook so my friends and family there could see. A friend of mine told me it wasn’t bad, but not something he would read. And I was completely okay with that. But this stinging rejection from someone who is practically a stranger hurt.

I thought about it half of the day. It really made me second guess myself, but thanks to my fellow writer friends I realized you can’t please everyone. All that matters is what I think. Negativity only breeds negativity.

Besides, I had the balls to write a book. What’s he doing that’s so special?

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Madness Update 8: My First Naysayer

  1. I’m glad you’ve brushed this guy’s comments off. Everybody has an opinion and the only one that matters is yours (and a few select people’s of course). Criticism is just the way of the world. When I wrote “A Bloody Masterpiece” and posted it on my blog, one writer I look up to criticized it heavily and said that it’s dark, horrifying, and disturbing.

    That story is special to me because it deals with domestic violence and I had to deal with that same issue many years ago. The point is that it came from MY heart, and I shouldn’t be upset if someone doesn’t understand it. I wish you all the best with Madness and I can’t wait to see the cover you choose. Unlike the others, you didn’t sit on your ass and talk about it. You did something, you took action. You made something happen. YOU wrote a book, and that’s all that matters.

  2. You DID have the balls to write a book, which is more than almost anyone can say 🙂 Good for you, and never forget that you write for yourself first and foremost. If people happen to buy it, even better, but we do it for ourselves. Be proud of your accomplishment.

  3. Everyone has a right to an opinion, but I’d say your critic has it backwards. A complex plot is much better left for a novel than a movie. Your story of two traumatized people meeting and helping each other deal with PTDS sounds intriguing and could make a good movie, but I would much rather read the book first, because novels allow you to really explore the characters and get inside their heads much more than a film ever can!

    Congratulations on finishing your manuscript! That is a huge accomplishment, and I wish you luck as you progress through the publishing process.

Talk to me!

