Things You Should Stop Saying to Your Single Friends


Being single is one of the best/worst experiences ever. Hence all these nifty phrases people like to tell their single friends. Feel free to laugh at my pain. And the pain of your friends and neighbors. 

Being in a relationship isn’t that important.  I know. It’s not like I’m spending every hour of every day searching for the perfect guy. I have other interests. But when almost everyone you know is in a relationship and you’re the only single gal at functions, life gets a bit awkward.

You should focus on something else. I am. Living my life. But see the point above.

I have a friend that would be perfect for you. It’s usually the opposite.

Have you tried online dating? Sure there are normal guys on the internet looking for love. Right? Right. *Watches an episode of Catfish*. FUCK!

The right guy is under your nose. I’ve checked. That’s just my philtrum.

Relationships are for suckers. This line usually comes from men, but a few women will say this too. Either they’re a firm believer in NSA relations or got their hearts broke badly and are anti-relationship. Either way, I’m not buying it.

You’ll meet someone when you aren’t looking. This one doesn’t make any sense. It’s not like I’m a lioness trying to pick a dude off like a gazelle. I’m not a fisherman sitting at the lake for hours waiting for the big one. But you can’t meet new people just by sitting back and watching the world go by.

Play the field.  What is this? Dodge ball? Playing the field is a pain in the ass. And exhausting.

Maybe it’s you? Trust me, the thought already crossed my mind and you pointing it out makes me feel even more defective. Thanks!

Have you said these things to a single friend before? Yeah? WELL STOP IT AND NEVER SAY IT AGAIN.

Did I miss any? What phrases do you hate to hear as a single person?

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Things You Should Stop Saying to Your Single Friends

  1. This is such a great post, I’ve had every one of those things said to me! One of the worst has to be “you’re just not trying hard enough” and “you’re being too picky”. If being picky means wanting a guy who has manners then yes I am! Rant over lol 😉 x

Talk to me!

