Butterfly


Butterfly

Fly away while you can

There’s no home here for you

I hope that you can understand

The sky is gray here, no more blue

Spread your wings like a free bird

Hurry up, up and away

I know that you’ve heard

I can’t let you stay

You’re too beautiful

You’re too grand

You’re too dutiful

They will crush you in their hands

Butterfly, please fly away

You’re too pretty for this place

There’s too many evils at play

They’ll wrap their chains around your waist

You’ve come too far

You’ve grown too much

To lower the bar

To let your wings be crushed

There’s no home for you here

The sky is dark and gray

This is a land of fear

Where the devils have come to play

 

So spread your wings like a free bird

Fly away while you can

Don’t be part of the herd

And fly to the promise land

Maybe I’ll metamorphosize

Into a butterfly just like you

Until then I’ll just fantasize

Until I can fly away too

Talk to me!

