Not Everyone’s a Hater


Has anyone else  noticed how difficult it is to express an opinion without being called a hater? 

Don’t like Beyonce’s new song? You’re a hater. Think Justin Bieber is a douchebag? Sorry, you’re a hater. Don’t like your friend’s outfit? You’re jealous AND a hater. Someone made a very flawed, illogical point and you call them on it? Yep. You’re a hater. Really sucks, huh?

Hating or being a hater usually comes up when you express a negative opinion about someone or something. According to urban dictionary, a hater is defined as a person that cannot be happy for another person’s success so they make a point to expose that person’s flaws. When a person is “hating” they’re saying/doing negative things to knock the other person down a peg.

However, not everyone that has a negative opinion about something is a hater. If I don’t like a song I hear, I’m not “hating” because the artist is more talented, making millions and “doing something with their life.” In most cases, it has nothing to do with the artist and everything to do with the quality of the content.

I think that’s the problem with accusing people of being haters. We’re assuming that the “hater” is being critical because they don’t like the person who created the content, wearing the outfit, or doing the activity. 9 out of 10 times this isn’t true. It’s all about attitude and execution. If someone says something offensive and it gets called on it, it has nothing to do with the person. They may be the sweetest, coolest person in the world. However, if you say or do something stupid, people have a right to call you on it. If someone says a song sucks, it has nothing to do with how pretty and talented the artist is. It has everything to do with the content and execution of the material.

Now don’t get me wrong. There are haters out there. There are people who can’t be happy for another’s person success and pick at people to make themselves feel better about their lives. However to classify everyone that has a negative opinion as a hater is a tad bit ridiculous.

But what do I know? Maybe I’m just being a hater.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Not Everyone’s a Hater

  1. I really use the word “hate” too frequently–I guess it’s because my feelings are strong, whether positive or negative–but I need to stop saying the H word, it’s just plain ugly. I wasn’t aware of the urban dictionary’s definition–that’s not what I think of when I say I “hate milk” for instance. What I seem to notice lately is that there’s a growing paranoia about saying things that are “not politically correct” or insensitive–gosh, it makes me nervous, and I wonder if we’re going to end up with a new generation of mutes. Sometimes we say something, and there’s NO ill-will intended whatsoever–but woe to you, if you’re standing in the wrong crowd; you might be killed before you have a chance to explain yourself and apologize. And it’s not just about race or gender identity–I remember when saying something was “retarded” held no disrespect for folks afflicted with developmental disabilities; it was more a way of saying I was clueless about something. Oh well, I’ve about exhausted myself–and need to head to living room church! Have a blessed day.

    1. Definitely! Some people are overly sensitive now days. And any kind of negative criticism now days is frowned upon. Everyone’s walking on egg shells and pretending to love everything

Talk to me!

