Blacktop (A poem)


Blacktop

Scraped and bruise

I fought you.

You were so unforgiving.

 

But I got up.

I soldiered on.

I had to carry on living.

 

You were dark and hard.

So cold and cruel.

I knew this from the beginning.

 

But I had to challenge you.

I had to fight.

I wouldn’t go down without swinging.

 

You tripped me and scarred me,

Bruised me and beat me.

It felt like the world was spinning.

 

Still I fought on.

I kept getting up.

I came out the victor, grinning.

 

I defeated the asphalt

Once and for all.

It felt so good winning.

2 thoughts on “Blacktop (A poem)

Talk to me!

