How This Girl Writes! A Writing Process Blog Tour


Hey everyone! Before we dive into today’s post, I’d like to think my good friend Daevone Molyneux for inviting me to join the madness front coverwriting process blog tour! It seems like a lot of fun and it’s really interesting to learn more about what fellow writers do behind the scenes. Daevone is working a fantasy novel called The Sanguis Jewel. You can learn more about it by checking out his writing process tour post or just checking out his blog in general.

Well, I’ve stalled long enough. Let’s do this!

What am I working on at the moment?

I am a busy beaver! I’m working on about five  to six short stories to submit to different anthology series. Two of them are scary/horror stories, one is about a female superhero and the other two/three have yet to be determined lol. There isn’t any official word yet on any of these since I haven’t submitted or finished these works, but I’m hopeful all will be accepted and published.

In addition to the short stories, I’m working on a new novel called Bully. It’s about a teenager whose father dies so he goes to live with his estranged mother and encounters some very dangerous bullies at his new school. I’m still crafting the first draft, so it will be awhile before you guys will get to see it. Hopefully it will be published summer of 2015 if I can get the momentum going again.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I don’t like to stick to the status quo or genre lines. I like to shake things up and give them a twist. A lot of the things I write about can make people uncomfortable or are things people talk about behind closed doors or try to ignore. I like to bring those things to light in an entrancing and entertaining way.

Why do I write what I do?

I write about the hard things, the uncomfortable things, because they’re a part of life. After all, you wouldn’t fully appreciate the good times in your life without the bad. I want people who are going through hard times to know that they aren’t alone. I want the underdogs in the world to know someone is rooting for them. I want people to see the world in a new light or forget their problems for a while.

How does my writing process work?

I’m a panster, not a plotter. I’m the girl who wants to travel, but has no idea where so she closes her eyes, spins the globe and points to a destination.

Don’t be alarmed. There’s a little more order to it than that. Usually I come up with an idea or concept, then let the characters do the rest. Even though it’s just a general idea/concept, I always know how the story will end.

Although lots of people swear by it, I don’t write every day. If I do I’ll become sick of it and won’t want to write for a week or so. So I write every other day or every couple of days. Every writing day, I set a goal for myself. If I’m working on a novel, I’ll set a goal of a chapter or two. If it’s a short story, I’ll try to finish it that day or the on the next writing day.

Well there you have it folks! I hope you enjoyed learning about my writing process as much as I liked sharing it with you. I’m handing over the reigns to three other awesome writers who will talk about their writing process around next week or so. You should definitely check out their blogs and writing beforehand though because they’re awesome. Would I lie to you?

Jonathan Praise: One of my favorite people on Twitter. He’s one of the first writers I became friends with and is a really funny and nice guy. I’ve had the privilege of reading some of his short stories and haven’t read one I didn’t like. Go check him out!

Brett Charles Milam: We met over at The Angry Hourglass where we occasionally write flash fiction. He’s a really nice guy and talented writer so go check him out!

Becka Rooney: And of course, I had to include this wonderful lady in the mix. Not only is Becka passionate about poetry, she’s also passionate about plants. You can check her out over at This and That or her other blog Life of a Plant Lover.

If you’re interested in hearing me talk more about my writing, food, and female superheroes, check out my interview on Tenminuteinteviews.com. Thanks guys! See you tomorrow!

 

15 thoughts on “How This Girl Writes! A Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. This was an extravagantly well-written post. I can’t wait to read Bully, it looks like that will be quite the delicious read. Thanks for sharing your writing process!

  2. I love hearing how others writers write. I can easily do poetry everyday (yesterday I wrote 7 poems…), but my novel is much harder to concentrate on each day…. Wishing you every success–God bless you, Madwoman.

      1. Oh goodness–“long”! It’s a bit like the Silas Marner tale, where the man takes in, raises, an orphan girl–except that in mine, they ultimately have more of a marriage, than father-daughter relationship. (But it’s different from the Woody Allen one, in my view.)

      2. Oh, thank you! The title is Achilles’ Orphan (because although the man is otherwise a paragon of virtue, the girl is the chink in his armor, his weakness). Thank you so much for expressing interest in my project–it’s so close to my heart (since I was 10, I’m now 61)–I appreciate it, God bless you.

      3. Bless your dear heart–wishing you a great weekend–and I’ll be back over to see you, soon as I get minute, so don’t give up on me yet!

Talk to me!

