Love is a Graveyard


Another poem I found while cleaning out my files. Enjoy!

Love Is A Graveyard
Don’t bother to call the ambulance
You’ve come way too late
No use in trying CPR
You can’t resuscitate
Put away your defibrillator
There’s no sparks left in my heart
Love is supposed to bring people together
But it tore us apart

I’ll bring my heart
You bring the spade

Love is a graveyard

Throw my heart in the plot
You were just gonna bury it anyway
There’s no way I can be saved
There’s no reason to be ashamed

Love is a graveyard

Ashes to ashes
Lust to dust
My heart has broken
Turned to rust
It has cracked, chipped, and burned
Damn I thought I learned

There’s no need to be afraid
All hearts die when you give them away
There’s no way you can be saved

Love is a graveyard

Lay your flower on my heart’s grave

I knew from day one you would kill it anyway
I am not afraid
In fact I wanted it this way
No need for empty words
Your broken promises
like bruises will fade away

Don’t bother to call the ambulance
You’ve come way too late
No use in trying CPR
You can’t resuscitate
Put away your defibrillator
There’s no sparks left in my heart
Love is supposed to bring people together
But it tore us apart

So ashes to ashes
Dust to lust
Say a prayer for both of us
Cause love is a graveyard

2 thoughts on “Love is a Graveyard

  1. I love “lust to dust” (perfect description of my marriage); and I like “all hearts die when you give them away” for the spiritual component…I could sort of go on and on here, jabbering.

Talk to me!

