Insomnia (A Poem)


Insomnia

Instead of counting sheep I’m counting the hour

Don’t want to fall to the sandman’s power

My eyes grow heavy and they flutter shut

If I sleep now I might not wake up

So I toss and I turn

As the hours burn

I toss, turn and quake

As I fight to stay awake

I’d love to close my eyes

But I don’t want to die

I try my best, but I can’t survive

with the hate in his eyes

So I stay awake

So my soul he can’t take

But the sandman is stronger than I

As it gets later I close my eyes

I slip into an uneasy sleep

And I pray that I don’t get slaughtered like a sheep

Talk to me!

