What Grinds My Gears Part 2


Back in January I wrote this post about some things that grind my gears as Peter Griffin would say. It’s been awhile since then and I figured it would be a fun way to blow off some steam. So without further ado, here are a couple more things that grind my gears. 

You know what really grinds my gears?

When people try to minimize and devalue the outrage/feelings of others: With no justice being served for Mike Brown or Eric Garner, a lot of people have been expressing outrage and disgust among other things. And of course there are people who don’t get it. People who don’t understand why folks are so up in arms about these miscarriages of justice and are doing and saying anything to devalue and discredit these feelings and opinions. Well, for those people guess what? Anyone who is outraged, disgusted, and angered about it has every right to be! To me, it’s more troubling if you aren’t outraged. Let people feel and react how they want to. Don’t try to devalue anyone’s feelings because they aren’t the same as yours.

When people talk to you when you have your headphones on: Having headphones on is the universal sign for don’t talk to me. Yet some people still feel the need to talk to you anyway. Stahp it. You’re breaking the rules.

Misleading titles: Misleading blog/article/video titles drive me nuts. I don’t want to click on something entitled “Cute Puppies” and get barraged by boobs aka sweater puppies. (Get it? I’ll see myself out.) Properly title your stuff, folks!

When people pay more attention to their phones then you when hanging out: Why are we even hanging out? If I’d known all you wanted to do was play candy crush and text, we could have in the comforts of our own homes.

Public bathrooms: Public bathrooms are the worst. They’re hardly ever clean. And if it is clean, there’s only a matter of time before some nasty individual comes and messes it up.

When people talk to you in the public bathroom: We’re both trying to pee right now. This is weird.

Writer’s block: I just want to write all the words. Why must my thoughts not sound good on paper?

When people tell you your opinion is wrong: I like what I like and I feel what I feel. Don’t agree? Too bad. I’m entitled to my views and they won’t change just because you don’t agree.

Being considered a “hater” when you don’t like someone: I’m not sure when having a negative opinion about someone or something became “hating”, but it needs to stop. You’re not going to like everyone or everything you encounter and that’s fine. Stop trying to make it seem like others are “jealous” or being unreasonable.

Math: As far as I’m concerned, 2 + 2 is chair. Please don’t make me do it.

 

2 thoughts on “What Grinds My Gears Part 2

  1. Great post. I love the one about people talking to you when you have your headphones on. It’s like they go out of their way to talk to you right at that moment. Excuse me, but can’t you see that my hearing holes are covered up? There’s a reason for that y’know. This conversation can’t wait until later on…?

Talk to me!

